Making Mindful Time!

Its a recurrent theme in all of our lives at some point or another.

‘…..sorry not got time for that’ ‘I can’t stop, I’m running out of time’ ‘where has the time gone….’

crazy-clock

We all live by second, by minute, by hour, by day, by week, by month, by year. Our milestones and yearly goals are all prefixed, we have them all planned out. In fact, some of us are five to ten years ahead of ourselves, literally aging ourselves within a moment’s breath. We have diaries and schedules rammed full of anything from very important meetings to a holiday in the maldives in a years time – if you are actually fortunate enough to be able to make time or afford them.

Another major thing with schedules and goals, is that we are so busy and focused on them, that we literally steal our own time. We use that time to think about the things we are going to need for that weekend away, the preparation we need to get done for that project for our client. We spend a disproportionate amount of time on this, and the timer is always at a critical low in our present moment. We are literally stealing time from ourselves

‘Im late, I’m late, I’m very very late…..’

Angel_Bunny_'You're_late'_by_AtomicGreymonI have, by default an anxious mind, living in the future was my comfort blanket for many years. I imagined all sorts of things that could happen with worst case scenarios that were blown out of proportion, bordering on fiction. I have been aware of this ‘condition’ for the best part of my 38 year old life. For a whole host of reasons, it was becoming startlingly apparent that this was not being solved by just simply willing my brain to change. I was hard wired to be like this and asking myself to ‘snap out of it’ just wasn’t cutting it.


 

I began to read anything I could get my hands on about my affliction to literally suck my time away on worrying. I wanted to learn all about the brain and what’s happening inside my cogs. After some research, it was amazing to discover I had a potential way to manage it, and perhaps even re-wire my brain!  I was like a broken car my dad would spend his working days fixing and if they can be fixed, then surely I can be ?

I discovered something, amongst all the scientific research that was producing amazing results. Without divulging into the anatomy and neuroplasticity of our little machines the little golden nugget was something called ‘mindfulness.’

Mindfulness

 

panoramic-sea

I loved yoga and had spent time in ‘meditation’ but the word ‘mindfulness’ was new to me. The most amazing thing about this simple but effective practice, is, its simple methods to success – focus on the breath and be in the present moment. Sounds easy…..but it is an art all of its own!

It is practiced by buddhist monks to CEO’s of corporations and it is providing relief in this ever demanding world.

I wanted to share with you an article I found helpful that got me started, and a mindful meditative exercise video. Do your research, read the literature and have a go at the exercise.  If you find it helpful for you in whatever capacity, then you could be on your way to becoming a well practiced mindful individual soon!

I hope you can make time for you today, I hope that you can live in the present moment through the exciting movement of mindfulness.

Do feel free to let me know how you get along and what you find so good about this new thing ‘mindfulness’

So far, for me, its working wonders xx

imageedit_9_2885741483

Introducing Mindfulness Meditation

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Making Mindful Time!

  1. I always try to practice mindfulness in this hectic world. and it is so hard to convince myself to just take few moments to do nothing but breathing xD .. beautiful post. thanks for sharing! 😊 p.s: your homepage is love.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved this post! I read your blogs fairly often and you’re
    always coming out with great stuff. I shared this on my facebook and my follwers loved it!

    Keep up very good work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

